top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Chickpea Salad

So this craving all started after I ate at a lovely little pleace called Counter Culture in Austin, TX on my work trip this past week. I ordered the (mock) tuna melt on GF bread. Holy. Guacamole. It was to die for. We went back there the next night too- I will be doing a post strictly on those meals (which I actually got pics of!!) later this week. I returned home and have had this craving for mock tuna salad and knew it would be super easy to make my own. A simple search on my favorite vegan blog and what do you know...a golden recipe!

On a side note- I used to run a little blog called RawKourt! with strictly my vegan recipes and health advice. Since moving over to this blog I can now incorporate all of that along with lots of other good stuff! I will eventually get to moving all those recipes over for this blog's archive to have them all in one place. On to today's recipe...This is adapted from The Simple Veganista who has outstanding recipes. Per usual, I ate it all before I could snap a picture, so this is from her blog.

I made a single batch to incorporate into my lunch the next few days. Well, that plan was over when I started eating it stright out of the mixing bowl and looked down to see it empty. So...I'll be making more tonight to last the next few days. It is so simple, and I was able to make this 100% organic, even down to the spices! I keep my fat intake below 10% each day (I follow the 80/10/10 diet 90% of the time) so I used fat free hummus. I don't eat soy so I couldn't use the vegan mayo, and I was glad she gave the option of using hummus. If you can't find fat free hummus, it's super easy to make. It turned out wonderful, there's no need for full fat hummus! Keep it light. I also used stoneground mustard (she gives you a choice) and added a dusting of cayenne pepper to it.

I ate it by spreading it on romaine and wrapping it up. This would be great for a collard leaf wrap, with crackers, veggies, on bread with melted vegan cheese...endless possibilities!

  • Instagram App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • IMG_6380
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Facebook App Icon
  • SoundCloud App Icon
bottom of page