top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

#NoPlastic - Part One


A few days ago, I posted an instagram story sharing some of the ways I reduce waste in my life. I got an overwhelming response and tons of messages asking where I got everything. I figured I would link my favorite products here while also sharing a little bit of my journey!

My dad instilled in me, from a young age, to always recycle. That is why you could catch me at my friends house sorting their trash if I noticed there were cans and bottles in the 'regular' garbage AKA on it's way to a landfill (what, you've never done that??). I always patted myself on the back for being a great recycler. I thought it was amazing that I would sort garbage, wash out containers, take of stickers- whatever I could to make sure it would get recycled. And then I realized that still takes time, money, and energy for plants to recycle items. It would be much better to not even produce the waste/packaging in the first place.

So I began small, and instead of recycling jars from sauce, pickles, jelly, salsa, etc. I would wash and re-use them. I had already been bringing my own water bottle around for years, so i started bringing juice, tea, and snacks around in jars as well. You can buy many food items in bulk, from spices to beans to dried fruit, and fill your own jars. I organize all my make up, brushes, pens, pencils, pretty much everything in old candle jars too! Yes I'm weird and get excited when an item I am purchasing comes in a cool jar and I start thinking of how I can use it after I consume the product. There eventually came a time when I needed to actually order a few jars that were bigger, so I went on amazon and ordered 1/2 gallon jars. They are fantastic for storing bulk items and keeping herbs fresh. You can even make cold brew coffee in them with a small mesh insert. (I have linked my favorite jars below - I find I need to purchase quart and half gallon ones, and can upcycle smaller jars as mentioned above)

My next step was bring my own bags to the grocery store. I make a huge effort to always have bags in the trunk of my car. They are so affordable and save SO many plastic bags. I also realized that I should be bringing them in everywhere, for any kind of shopping. I linked some below that fold up into a small pouch so they fit nicely into your purse or larger bag. I also started bringing my own reusable produce bags. That alone saved so much plastic.

As time went on, I realized I could be doing SO much more. Every straw, plastic spoon from takeout, plastic produce bag, candy wrapper...it all adds up! So I decided to make ever effort I could into reducing waste. Honestly, it just comes down to taking 60 seconds and thinking of what I need to use that day. It also effects how I shop. I love Trader Joe's, but almost all of their produce is in plastic bags or containers. So instead I find myself going to Marianos, Whole Foods, or other stores where I can bag my own produce in reusable bags.

When we food prep, we typically use our pressure cooker and make a huge batch of brown rice, let is cool and break it into small bags and freeze it. We do the same with beans, chickpeas, veggies, etc. We also freeze bananas and other fruit that is super ripe for smoothies. While we were reusing plastic bags, I still didn't like the thought of BPA and other harmful substances housing our food. So we switched to silicone bags (linked below) and it's been working out great!

All of the above goes for many situations! Bring your own glass bowls or silicone bags to family parties, work gatherings, etc. where you usually get sent home with plastic bags. It doesn't happen overnight. I carry a little pouch (it came with the straws) with a fork, spoon, and three straws in my purse and I will tell you it takes a long time to get in the habit of always having your bags, straws, silver wear, jars, bowls, produce bags, etc. on you at all times. Make it easy on yourself and put them in the place where you are most likely to use them, whether that is your desk, car, purse, lunch bag, briefcase, computer bag- wherever! And lets remember - going vegan is the single biggest impact we can possibly have on the environment!!

  • Instagram App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • IMG_6380
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Facebook App Icon
  • SoundCloud App Icon
bottom of page