top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

#TBT: Busboys and Poets - Washington, DC

There have been some amazing restaurants and trips that I haven't gotten around to posting about, and I figure what better way than to do throw back thursdays every week.

To start off, back in May my boyfriend and I went to DC for our one year anniversary. I have family there, and some of my cousins were getting ready (and now have) to move to San Diego. So we wanted one last trip while they were all in DC. It was a long fun weekend of sight seeing, eating, drinking and spending time with family.

I chose to focus on one restaurant for this post, and there will be a part 2 coming with the rest of our meals. This is a pretty well know restaurant in DC, with rave reviews. It is a vegetarian restaurant called Busboys and Poets, which has the coolest atmosphere! It's a mix of a cafe/bookshop/restaurant/hangout where everyone was doing just that. They have all sorts of cool events, I so wish there was one in Chicago!

To start, we got the nachos and all shared them. This was probably my favorite out of our entire trip! Everything was so flavorful, and it didn't feel to heavy or fatty, like some vegan cheeze can. I would have been on with keeping these all to myself...and I think everyone else felt the same way. The organic corn tortilla chips were topped with guacamole, daiya vegan cheese, pico de gallo, vegan sour cream, black-eyed pea and red pepper salsa.

IMG_3921.JPG

It was a little hard to find things that were vegan AND gluten free, because they do serve non-vegan items here as well. So this was the only thing I could order, and thats OK because I'm always game for a good veggie burger! So I got it without the bun (they didn't have gluten free bread, which was a bummer). It had a flavorful Indian spice to it, and was topped with avocado, tomato, and arugula. I have pretty high standards for fries, and these were amazing. They have all kinds of sauces on the table, so I cut my burger into pieces and tested it with all of the sauces. My favorite was the marinara, wich brings me to the next incredible thing....

IMG_3917.JPG

VEGAN CALZONE! That is something us vegans usually only eat in our dreams. My boyfriend got the Calzone and a side of sweet potato fries. The calzone was vegan, however not gluten free, so I only got to taste the inside and it surpased every expectation I had. There are no words for how good this was. My boyfriend gave up dairy about a year ago and had been craving a calzone or deep dish since day 1. He was ecstatic. It was stuffed with Daiya cheese, veggies, and vegan pepperoni. I'm not really sure why we haven't re-created this yet?!

IMG_3920.JPG

Lastly, my dad got the Vegan Orzo Pasta. Again, this had gluten so I unfortunately did not get to taste this. It had sweet potato, asparagus, shallots, shiitake, red pepper, and kale, tossed in a tomato olive oil sauce. That is basically what my dad eats on a daily basis for dinner, and he loved their rendition of it.

It's always a good sign when you want to fly to a city just to eat at one restaurant, right? Good thing we have family there, because we can't wait to go back!

  • Instagram App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • IMG_6380
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Facebook App Icon
  • SoundCloud App Icon
bottom of page